Volbeat announces eighth studio album


Servant of the spirit will be available on December 3

Volbeat has announced the release of their eighth studio album, Servant of the spirit, coming via Republic Records on December 3. The new album will be available as a standard CD, 2 deluxe CDs, 2 LP deluxe vinyl and a deluxe digital edition. Various limited edition vinyl variations will be released worldwide, including a Volbeat Online Store Exclusive Translucent Rust 2 LP (limited to 500), Revolver Magazine Yellow Clear 2 LP (limited to 400), one color Indie Retail Exclusive Mystery 2 LP (Limited to 100). Four additional vinyl variations are exclusive to Europe, including Volbeat exclusive crystal clear 2 LP (limited to 2,000) website, exclusive EMP glow in the dark 2 LP (limited to 2,000), exclusive UMG orange and blue 2 LP (limited to 3,100), and Denmark exclusive Danish red and white 2 LP (limited to 2,000).

For the album, the band – consisting of Michael Poulsen (guitars / vocals), Jon Larsen (drums), Rob Caggiano (guitars) and Kaspar Boye Larsen (bass) – took their heavy metal, psychobilly and punk ‘n’ signature. roll sound up a notch while showing off Poulsen’s great songwriting and storytelling ability.

“I wrote the whole album in three months,” Poulsen remembers, “I was in a good mood and good humor at home, and I had an audience captive to myself… There are a lot of Volbeat signatures in. If you go back to the first record and compare it to where we are now, you can hear how the band developed their style, while still keeping the characteristic sound.

To coincide with the album’s announcement, the band released the new single “Shotgun Blues,” an anthem song in which Poulsen explores the ghostly events he recently experienced when moving into a new home. “Every time you move into a house, you bring the dead with you,” he explains. “Strange things happen when I move into a [new] home… it’s very otherworldly.

The album also features the “double barrel” summer songs the band released last June: “Wait A Minute My Girl” and “Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)”. The first became the group’s ninth number one single on the Billboard Mainstream Rock charts.

Other songs on the album weave intricate and compelling stories. “The Sacred Stones” tells the story of an “earthly being who enlisted in the dark side. He is on a mission, speaking to the darkest forces and fallen angels. Meanwhile,” The Devil Rages On ” takes a look at the idea of ​​the devil taking human form. The opening of the album “Temple of Ekur” revisits the ancient themes explored in past songs such as “The Gates of Babylon”, while the epic album more nearby “Lasse’s Birgita” explores the history of the first witch fires in Sweden in 1471.

Tomorrow (Friday, September 24), the group begins their Wait A Minute… Let’s Tour tour, their first US tour in two years, at the Atlanta Tabernacle with concerts in cities like Oklahoma City, San Diego and Los Angeles. Special guests The Hu, Twin Temple and Municipal Waste will join them on certain dates.

Earlier this week, the group also announced their 2022 arena tour with Ghost and special guests Twin Temple, coming to cities like Seattle, Denver, Chicago, Houston and Phoenix. Tickets for the tour, co-produced by Live Nation and Frank Productions, will be available on Friday, September 24 at 10 a.m. local time through Ticketmaster with limited VIP packages available at volbeat.dk.

Deluxe 2 CD | Deluxe 2 LP | CD

1. Temple of Ekur
2. Wait a minute my girl
3. The sacred stones
4. The shotgun blues
5. The devil is raging
6. Say no more
7. The descent into paradise
8. Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)
9. The passenger
10. Step into the light
11. Become
12. Mind lock
13. Birgitta de Lasse
14. Return To None (Cover of Wolfbrigade) [Deluxe]
15. Domino (cover of The Cramps / Roy Orbison) [Deluxe]
16. Shotgun Blues (feat. Dave Matrise from Jungle Rot) [Deluxe]
17. Dagen Før (Michael Vox version) [Deluxe]


Comments are closed.