The Shires announce new studio album and release new single “I See Stars”


The hit British country duo The counties are about to release their next album”10 year plan“on March 11, 2022, the title refers to their modest goals when Well and Crisie started making music together in 2012. Crissie reflects “We wanted to give our music to Bob Harris, and we wanted a thousand followers on Facebook. At the time, it seemed crazy, but Ben was committed to it“. Their achievements since then have of course far exceeded those targets, including three consecutive UK top 3 albums, four UK No. 1 country albums, two gold certified records and over 100 million streams. and that’s not to mention their countless sold-out flagship shows.

On the upcoming thirteen-track project (see track list below) The counties took all of their greatest influences and condensed them into one cohesive, confident record…from the start Taylor Swift/Lady A inspired opening »cut me looseto the classical steel pedal guitar of the near timeless “When It Hurts”. Their trademark harmonies are particularly evident on tracks such as “Sparks” and “bar without you” and there is a collaboration with another British talent Beth McCarthy to “Rebound” .

The album was launched with the release of their new single “I see starswhich was created on Zoe Ball’s breakfast show on BBC Radio 2. The song was co-written by the duo Ben Earle and in-demand Nashville hit-maker Jeff Cohen who has already collaborated with The Counties fan favourites”Daddy’s little girl” and “thousand hallelujahsand it’s symbolic of the duo’s pop take on country lore. It definitely has a wonderfully positive and uplifting message and anthemic feel, Well describing him as having “arena vibe – i can imagine us being up there on a massive stage with everyone singing“. Play/Download the single here:

And hopefully it won’t be long before that image becomes reality, because after completing their current intimate acoustic tour The counties will begin a major UK tour in April culminating in a landmark London show at the Palladium on May 24…full dates and ticket information here

And I’m sure it won’t have escaped a lot of people that the album release date coincides with this year’s C2C festival…. should we read about it, and maybe consider an album launch event to be announced at the O2 in London? Let’s see…

“10 Year Plan” is available for pre-order now on CD, Vinyl and Digital. A limited number of CDs with signed inserts and vinyls with signed 12×12 prints are also available

Track listing “10 Year Plan”

  1. ‘Cut Me’
  2. ‘Sparks’
  3. ‘Side by side’
  4. ‘Rebound’
  5. “Ten-Year Plan”
  6. ‘I see stars’
  7. “Bar Without You”
  8. “Baby, we’re rich”
  9. ‘Parachute jump’
  10. ‘Wild Heart’
  11. ‘Always tonight’
  12. “Peggy, I’m sorry”
  13. “When It Hurts”

Review written by Lesley Hastings (


Comments are closed.