The Red Hot Chili Peppers Return With 12th Studio Album “Unlimited Love” On April 1


The Red Hot Chili Peppers will unveil their new album and twelfth album, Unlimited Love, on April 1, 2022. It notably marks their first recording with guitarist John Frusciante since 2006 and first with longtime producer and collaborator Rick Rubin since 2011. .herald Unlimited Love, the Los Angeles band have just shared the debut single and music video “Black Summer”.

“Our only goal is to lose ourselves in the music. We (John, Anthony, Chad and Flea) have spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, perfecting our craft and pitching for each other, to make the best album possible. Our antennas tuned into the divine cosmos, we were so grateful to have the opportunity to be in a room together and once again try to improve ourselves. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely and arranging the fruit of these jams with great care and determination. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies delighted us.

We aspire to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album UNLIMITED LOVE is a facet of us, reflecting our vision of the universe. This is the mission of our life. We work, focus and prepare so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean gave us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it.

Frusciante added, “When we first started writing material, we started out playing old songs by people like Johnny ‘Guitar’ Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others. Gradually we started bringing in new ideas and turning the jams into songs, and after a few months we were just playing new stuff. The feeling of effortless fun we had when playing other people’s songs stayed with us the entire time we wrote. For me, this record represents our love and our faith towards each other.

On lead track “Black Summer,” ethereal guitar underlines the introspective lyrics as the beat unlocks a hypnotic drum groove highlighted by an evocative bass. He inhales quietly only to exhale with a massive chorus, “It’s been a long time since I made a new friend, waiting for the end of another black summer”, before a guitar solo echoes through the skies and down. back. For the music video, the band teamed up with acclaimed director Deborah Chow [Disney+’s The Mandalorian, Obi-Wan Kenobi]. The result continues a tradition of captivating cinematic visuals, with a twist.

Unlimited Love resumes three-decade partnership with Rick Rubin [Johnny Cash, Adele]. Their creative collaboration spans legendary albums, including diamond dealer Blood Sugar Sex Magik [1991]Californication [1999]Moreover [2002]and Arcadium Stadium [2006].

The interaction between the group once again borders on intergalactic, but elevated to another stratosphere. Unlimited Love represents the united spirit of four individual souls still fearlessly exploring the future of their eternal friendship and musical congregation.

“Here Ever After” follows a staccato bass line in a rhythmic wormhole as the hook promises, “She’s the kind of girl that makes you wanna go faster now.” And whether it’s wild horns and booming bass on “Aquatic Mouth Dance” or the poetic dreamscape of confessional ballad “Not The One,” the album twists and turns with gleeful unpredictability on “Poster Child,” a funky riff spiked with pedal wah magic wavers in tandem with the delivery as a happy chorus sets in. “The Great Apes” charges to a primitive bugle call. For nearly six minutes, “It’s Only Natural” slips between hypnotic harmonies and magnetic grooves. The slinky funk of “She’s A Lover” turns into a singable gang chant and dancefloor-ready chorus, while “These Are The Ways” sees sweet melody give way to guitar and vocal catharsis. .

“Whatchu Thinkin'” relies on nodding percussion as the vocals float with the tempo only for the guitar to ignite the chorus. A chorus of analog synth colors the intro of “Bastards of Light”, while a heavenly crescendo raises “White Braids & Pillow Chair” beyond the clouds. Hitting the highways, “One Way Traffic” speeds up funk at an intersection of airy bass and drums. “Veronica” trades the band’s sunny Los Angeles for the south side of Chicago and a near-cinematic story about the title character. Then there’s “Let ‘Em Cry” where the trumpet punctuates the momentum before culminating in an emotionally charged guitar solo. “The Heavy Wing” takes flight on a climactic explosion of distortion and vocal conjurations. The ride culminates on “Tangelo”. Connected to delicate guitar and an emotionally charged vocal, this otherworldly lullaby gives way to a vibrant, vulnerable and vital final note as it slips into the arms of feedback. Check out the full track list below.
This summer, the Red Hot Chili Peppers will kick off their first tour in support of Unlimited Love. They have brought in a vibrant cohort of guests for the ride on select dates including Anderson.Paak & The Free Nationals, A$AP Rocky, Beck, HAIM, King Princess, St. Vincent, The Strokes and Thundercat. View the full confirmed itinerary and purchase tickets HERE.

1.Black summer
2. Here Forever
3. Aquatic Mouth Dance
4. Not the one
5.Child of the poster
6.The great apes
7. It’s natural
8. She’s a lover
9. These are the means
10. What do you think
11. Bastards of Light
12. White Braids and Pillow Chair
13.One-way traffic
14. Veronica
15. Let Them Cry
16.The heavy wing


Comments are closed.