Superchunk announces 12th studio album ‘Wild Loneliness’, shares debut single Endless Summer


Photo: Brett Villena

Superchunk has shared details of their 12th studio album.

“Wild Loneliness” will arrive on February 25 and features special collaborations with Sharon Van Etten, Mike Mills of REM, Andy Stack of Wye Oak, Tracyanne Campbell of Camera Obscura, Owen Pallett, Kelly Pratt and Franklin Bruno.

Recorded in the height of the COVID-19 lockdown period at their North Carolina home, the LP is previewed by the single Endless Summer, an upbeat and contagious power-pop track with additional vocal harmonies from Norman. Blake and Raymond McGinley from Teenage Fanclub. It is also available as a limited edition 7 “single on yellow vinyl, accompanied by a cover of When I Laugh by The Glands starring William Tyler on guitar. Mac McCaughan of Superchunk commented:

“Endless Summer was written on New Years Day 2020 which was unusually hot here in North Carolina. Of course, at the time we recorded it, Endless Summer had other meanings… The 7″ cover art features Roe Ethridge’s beautiful photos of broken umbrellas that perfectly capture the mood of the song. “

With the news comes a new North American tour for spring 2022. Tickets go on general sale December 10 at 10 a.m. local time. Go here for more details.

Tracklist of “Wild Loneliness”:

1. City of the Dead
2. A never-ending summer
3. On the floor
4. Very suspicious
5. Put it aside
6. That night
7. Wild loneliness
8. Refraction
9. Login
10. If you are not gloomy

Let us know what you think – leave a comment!

Related news


Comments are closed.