Snail Mail announces second studio album Valentine shares contagious title track


Snail Mail – the solo project of indie-rock phenomenon Lindsey Jordan – has announced their second studio album, Valentine, and ushered in the news of his second extended effort with the record’s highly contagious title track.

Upon release, the 10-track album – due out November 5 via Matador – will follow Jordan’s acclaimed debut album of 2018, Lush.

Don’t be fooled by the first 60 seconds of Valentine. While Jordan makes a point of enticing listeners with quiet synth sounds, relaxed snare tubes, and lively electric guitar twangs, the track turns into an entirely different beast by the time the first chorus arrives.

Replacing clear guitars with pristine overloaded open chords and upbeat drum beat, the track transforms from a sweet pop ballad into a limitless indie-rock anthem that flexes both Jordan’s gnarled vocal hooks and the prowess of the guitar playing.

The track is accompanied by an outrageous and bloody period music video directed by Josh Coll – whose credits include Kississippi, The Wonder Years and Circa Survive – of which Jordan said: “It was so gratifying to concoct this video alongside of the brilliant Coll.

“Watching a few kinky images in my head metamorphose into this beautiful scenario and ultimately into a tangible visual has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.”

Calling the process of writing and recording the album itself “the deepest level of catharsis and therapy I have ever experienced in my life,” Jordan went on the Valentine label as his. child ”and said,“ I wanted to take as much time as possible with this record to make sure I was happy with every detail before I released it to all of you.

Valentine was written in 2019 and 2020 by Jordan, who also co-produced the album alongside Bon Iver and Waxahatchee producer Brad Cook.

Check Valentine list of songs below.

  1. Valentine
  2. Ben franklin
  3. Headband
  4. Light blue
  5. Forever (Veil)
  6. Madonna
  7. vs. and. Al.
  8. Glory
  9. Automate
  10. Mia
  • Valentine is available for pre-order now through Matador ahead of its release on November 5th.

Snail Mail Valentine album cover

(Image credit: press)


Comments are closed.