Party Dozen Shares New Sub Pop Singles “Fat Hans Gone Mad” And “Dog Plan”


Party Dozen has shared two new songs, released exclusively as part of Sub Pop’s long-running Singles Club series.

Their participation in the Singles Club was first announced in February, alongside their signing with New York label Temporary Residence. Party Dozen’s two new songs for the series – “Fat Hans Gone Mad” and “Dog Plan” – do not appear on their upcoming third studio album, “The Real Work”. Listen to the singles below:

Like all of the band’s work, the singles were co-written by both band members – saxophonist Kirsty Tickle and drummer Jonathan Boulet, the latter also being an engineer and producer.

In a post on their social media, Party Dozen described the singles as “two rock tracks to catapult you into your family obligations today” – alluding to their release coinciding with Good Friday (April 15) and the start of the long Easter week end.

The noise-rock duo are just the second Australian act to feature in the Singles Club’s more than 30-year history – the other being Julia Jacklin, who released “in Perth, before the border closed” and “Cry” via the label in October 2020. Artists such as Nirvana, Soundgarden, Julien Baker, Death Cab for Cutie and The White Stripes have all contributed to the series since its inception in 1988.

The two new songs follow the release of “The Iron Boot”, which was released in March 2022 to coincide with the album announcement. “The Real Work” is scheduled for release on July 8. It will be distributed through the Boulet’s Grupo imprint in Australia and through the aforementioned Temporary Residency for the rest of the world.


Comments are closed.