Painted Shield releases two new singles and a live performance video


Today Painted Shield released two new singles, “Fallin Out Of The Sky” and “Drink The Ocean”, which are captured in a stunning live performance video. The band, which includes Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard, acclaimed songwriter Mason Jennings, Matt Chamberlain and Seattle soul prodigy Brittany Davis, will release their second album Painted Shield 2 on May 27, via Loosegroove Records. The album is currently available for pre-save here.

Watch: Live performance video of “Drink The Ocean”

Stream: “Fallin Out Of The Sky”

The group also recently released the singles “Til God Turns The Lights On” and “Life In Rewind”. Where most of the Painted Shield songs are fronted by vocalist Mason Jennings, “Life In Rewind” spotlights non-binary band member Brittany Davis, an incredibly gifted Seattle-based multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, and engineer. Davis is also blind and describes herself as “a sonic vessel” who experiments with music in the mind and colors.

Commenting on Davis’ role in the band, Gossard wrote, “He’s just a phenomenal musician and a lovely, energizing human being. He’s an amazing engineer, they write the hardest beats and can jam like crazy. They can fit into any song and find a place and be so powerful.”

Painted Shield previously released the riff-heavy single “Dead Man’s Dream” which received acclaim from Loudwire, and Guitar World who loved that Painted Shield “come back sooner than expected, and with an altogether more rock edge – the singers Mason Jennings and Brittany Davis really let loose, while Gossard indulges his love of The Who and Led Zeppelin with fat Les Paul sounds and windmill-worthy chords.”

The band released their self-titled debut album in 2020 to widespread acclaim from outlets including Rolling Stone, Consequence of Sound, Spin, The Seattle Times and NPR’s All Songs Considered. The album was noted for its wide range of sonic textures, frenetic energy, and eclectic approach to songwriting, all of which are elevated to a new level on Painted Shield 2.

“It’s genre assassination,” Davis says, pointing to a tracklist that includes full-throttle guitar rock (“Dead Man’s Dream”), late-night funk-pop (“Til God Turns the Lights On”) and percussive synths. atmospheric (“Alien”). “We’re killing the idea that there’s a formula you’re supposed to follow,” Davis continues. “We own things. It’s like saying a word in another language, when the word in English doesn’t exist. Even if you can’t always translate it, you can always feel it.”

The four musicians, many of whom hadn’t even played together in person, followed Painted Shield 2 to their respective home studios across America. Chamberlain, his tour dates as a member of Bob Dylan’s band interrupted by the Covid-19 pandemic, found himself at home in Los Angeles, creating beats, instrumental beds and looping soundscapes at the using drums and modular synthesizers. Thousands of miles to the north, Gossard — still fresh out of the upper reaches of the Billboard Top 200, where Pearl Jam’s eleventh album, Gigaton, soared to No. 5 in 2020 — was generating his own ideas in a Seattle studio. Jennings added melodies and lyrics. Brittany Davis did the same, adding funky bass parts and synthesized guitar solos into the mix. They both sang too – sometimes separately, sometimes mixing their voices in synchronized harmonies.

The result is an album that targets the head, the heart and the hips. It’s a mix of electronic and organic – moody rock album that really rocks, funky fire and industrialized guitar leg that gives “Til God Turns the Lights On” its unique swagger to the music. abandonment of garage-rock that supercharges “Falling Out of Heaven.” This feeling of movement can also be gentle and deliberate. “Life in Rewind” is a fever dream of a slow-simmering soul song – equal parts gospel grace, 1960s R&B spirit and dreamy reverb – and “White” is a quiet piece of left-field folk. , interwoven with watercolor streaks of digital noise.

“I’m so inspired to work with such inspiring and creative people,” says Jennings. “I’ve been releasing albums for almost 25 years, but I’ve never done anything like this before. It’s also a very active project. We’re already halfway through ‘Album Three’.”

Painted Shield 2 Track List:

01) Drink the ocean

02) Alien

03) Until God turns on the lights

04) Bird’s Nest

05) July 4th

06) Dead Man’s Dream

07) Life Back

08) Falling from the sky

09) White

10) Full Moon in daylight

Painted Shield:



Comments are closed.