​Joy Orbison and Overmono Team Up on New Track ‘Blind Date’ – News

0

Joy Orbison and Overmono have teamed up on a brand new single, “Blind Date.”

The track marks the trio’s first new collaboration in more than three years, following the dual tracker “Bromley/Still Moving”, released in 2019, their first link.

Released on XL recordings on Friday, September 23, “Blind Date” features vocals from American singer-songwriter ABRA on an impressive array of synths and pads, and features similar sounds to solo works by Joy Orbison and Overmono.

Read This Next: Overmono Release Brand New Track, ‘Gfortune’

“Blind Date” was first performed by Overmono this summer at festivals including Glastonbury, We Out Here and Dekmantel. “You may have heard me (luge) hammering it in my sets all summer or as a standout part of the T&E live show,” Joy Orbison said on Instagram.

“The first Joy Overmono collaboration was forged in the boys’ old studio in Bromley and came together very quickly – we just clicked from the start,” he explained. “Getting away from Bromley was traumatic for obvious reasons and as a result this one took a little longer.”

“We ended up working on this track in about 4 or 5 different studios, including a crazy trip to Peter Gabriel’s country pad. The three of us often have a very clear idea of ​​what we want to do together and we’ve been fine-tuning it for quite a while now.

Read This Next: Eat Your Own Ears Reveals Massive Lineup For The Warehouse Project’s Anniversary

To celebrate the release of the new track, Overmono performed it live at their sold-out show in London at KOKO on Thursday September 22 – the first leg of an extensive live tour around the world.

Overmono are now set to embark on a six-week tour around the world with five stops in the UK and Ireland before heading to the US and Canada, with a final four stops in Europe. The tour ends in Paris on November 5.

Listen to Joy Orbison and Overmono’s brand new track and find out about upcoming UK, EU and US tour dates below.

Overmono Live Dates:

Thursday, September 22 – KOKO, London, UK
Wednesday September 28 – The Mill, Birmingham, UK
Thursday September 29 – SWX, Bristol, UK
Friday 30 September – Chalk, Brighton, UK
Saturday October 1 – SWG3, Glasgow, UK
Tuesday 4 October – Cyprus Avenue, Cork, IRL
Wednesday 5 October – Dolan’s, Limerick, IRL
Thursday 6 October – Center Point, Dublin, IRL
Thursday, October 13 – Fortune Sound Club Vancouver, BC
Friday, October 14 – Monarch San Francisco, CA
Saturday, October 15 – Echoplex Los Angeles, CA
Wednesday, October 19 – Flash Washington, DC
Friday, October 21 – Elsewhere Brooklyn, NY
Saturday, October 22 – III Points Festival Miami, FL
Monday, October 31 – Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tuesday, November 1 – Botanique, Brussels, BE
Thursday, November 3 – Schwuz, Berlin, DE
Saturday, November 5 – Le Trabendo, Paris, FR

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Editorial Assistant, follow her on Twitter

Share.

Comments are closed.