Ghost Announces 5th Studio Album, Impera, Haunting Debut Single, Call Me Little Sunshine


Tobias Forge’s heavy metal band Ghost have announced their new album Imperaand shared the effort’s second single, call me little sun.

The upcoming album will be Ghost’s fifth studio album and their first in four years following the release of the 2018 Grammy-nominated album. Prequel. We don’t have long to wait either: it will arrive via Loma Vista/Concord on March 11th.

Join with hunter’s moon – arrived last September – call me little sun is a haunting encapsulation of Ghost’s hard-rock sound, serving up a favorable blend of pristine cleans and high-gain electric guitars akin to AC/DC’s stomping riffs. The Bells of Hell.

The staggered rhythmic twists between each pass draw heavily from the rock classic, though Forge and co maintain Ghost’s tone with a decidedly infectious guitar solo, assembled from a range of pentatonic licks and scales.

call me little sun is accompanied by a spooky music video directed by Matt Mahurin, which features Ruby Modine of happy day of the dead and Shameless.

According to the group, Impera will take listeners hundreds of years from Prequelfrom the era of the Black Death in Europe in the 14th century, and musically traces the rise and fall of empires.

In the studio, Klas Åhlund led the production duties while Andy Wallace orchestrated the mixing.

The complete tracklist of Impera can be found below.

  1. Imperium
  2. Kaisarion
  3. Weirs
  4. call me little sun
  5. hunter’s moon
  6. Watcher in the Sky
  7. Domination
  8. Around twenty
  9. Darkness in the heart of my love
  10. wooden claw
  11. Passage Bite
  12. Respite on the fields of the hospital

Ghost, who will hit the road for a 26-date US tour with Volbeat on January 25, has also announced the Imperatour, which will see Forge and his clan of Nameless Ghouls perform a host of arena shows across the UK and Europe. .

We saw it coming, though: last year, Forge said Sweden Rock Magazine that “we won’t release an album until we know we’re going on tour. It will coincide with a tour start”.

For a full list of tour dates, go to Ghost website.

  • Impera is available for pre-order now ahead of its March 11 release.

Ghost Impera album cover

(Image credit: Ghost)

Comments are closed.