Depeche Mode 12″ Vinyl Singles Collector’s Edition Boxed Set Series continues with the release of Exciter on June 10th


Rhino’s Depeche Mode 12” vinyl singles project continues with the release of EXCITER | 12″ SINGLES on June 10th.

EXCITER | THE 12″ SINGLES, a deluxe collector’s edition box set, contains eight 12″ vinyl records featuring four singles – “Dream On”, “I Feel Loved”, “Freelove” and “Goodnight Lovers” – with B-sides, remixes , instrumentals, acoustic versions and other contemporary recordings from Depeche Mode’s tenth studio album, Exciter, originally released in May 2001.

Three of EXCITER’s 12-inch vinyl records | THE 12″ SINGLES are comprised of tracks first released on CD singles throughout the album’s campaign. These new discs feature artwork mirroring the original CD single releases and create newly compiled 12″s that complement visually and musically the initial releases.The collection includes electrifying remixes of Depeche Mode originals and the unique version of “Dirt”, Depeche Mode’s mesmerizing take on the Stooges classic.

Produced by pioneering British techno DJ Mark Bell, Exciter, Depeche Mode’s first new studio album of the 21st century, took the band (Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andrew Fletcher) into deeper electronic and ambient acoustic territory while sharpening the contours of pop hook into sublime new songs. The Exciter campaign continued Depeche Mode’s tradition of releasing monumental 12-inch singles to compliment and supplement their album releases. Exciter created essential new additions to the Depeche Mode canon, including “Dream On”, “I Feel Loved”, “Freelove”, “Goodnight Lovers”, and more. THE EXCITER | THE 12″ SINGLES Deluxe Package includes a replica of the “Dream On” promotional poster and the large poster that came with the Goodnight Lovers 12″.

From their beginnings as a band, Depeche Mode have championed 12-inch vinyl, embracing the format’s singular power and potential for innovation. The 12-inch single allowed the band to explore new sonic possibilities while the real-world tactile beauty of the physical packaging gave Depeche Mode room to develop their sophisticated and commanding design aesthetic. Depeche Mode has used its singles discography as a way to deliver left field remixes, rare B-sides, standout gigs and other exclusive fan delights.

Rhino has released the first two box sets of the Depeche Mode 12″ singles series – Speak & Spell | Singles and a broken frame | The Singles – in August 2018, with the second batch – Construction Time Again | 12-inch singles and a great reward | The 12” Singles – arriving December 2018. Rhino released Depeche Mode’s Black Celebration | 12 inch singles and music for the masses | The 12” Singles on May 31, 2019. 2020 saw the release of Violator | The 12″ Singles in July and Songs of Faith and Devotion | The 12″ Singles in October. The ninth collection in the series, Ultra | The 12″ Singles, was released on September 27.

Each boxed set in the series contains the singles from each Depeche Mode album on audiophile-grade 12-inch vinyl, with the audio mastered from the original tapes. The artwork on the outside of each of the box sets draws from the iconography inspired by the original releases, while the vinyl sleeves themselves feature the original unique artwork.

The Depeche Mode 12″ Singles series will continue over the next few years, with plans to release boxes containing the singles from each of the band’s albums in similar audiophile-grade deluxe collector’s editions.

Exciter | 12″ singles

Dreaming about (12BONG 30)
A “Dream On (Bushwacka Tough Guy Mix)”
AA “Dream On (Dave Clarke Mix)”
AA “Dream On (Bushwacka Blunt Mix)”

*Dream On (L12BONG30) (newly compiled additional 12-inch vinyl single)
A “Dream On (single version)”
An “Easy Tiger (full version)”
An “Easy Tiger (Bertrand Burgalat & AS Dragon version)”
A “Dream On (Dave Clarke Acoustic Version)”
B “Dream On (Octagon Man Mix)”
B “Dream On (Octagon Man Dub)”
B “Dream On (Kid 606 Mix)”

I feel loved (12BONG 31)
An “I Feel Loved (Danny Tenaglia’s Labor Of Love Edit)”
AA “I Feel Loved (Danny Tenaglia’s Labor Of Love Dub)”

I feel loved (L12BONG 31)
An “I feel loved (Umek Mix)”
AA “I Feel Loved (Thomas Brinkmann Remix)”
AA “I Feel Loved (Chamber Remix)”

*I Feel Loved (XL12BONG31) (newly compiled additional 12-inch vinyl single)
An “I Feel Loved (Single Version)”
A “dirt (single version)”
B “I Feel Loved (Extended Instrumental)”
B “I Feel Loved (Desert After Hours Dub)”

Freelove (12BONG 32)
A “Freelove (Console Remix)”
A “Freelove (Schlammpeitziger “Little Rocking Suction Pump Version”)”
A “Zenstation (Atom’s Stereonerd Remix)”
B “Freelove (Bertrand Burgalat Remix)”
B “Freelove (DJ Muggs Remix)”

*Freelove (L12BONG32) (newly compiled additional 12-inch vinyl single)
A “Freelove (Flood Mix)”
A “Zenstation”
One “Freelove (vocal rendition by Josh Wink)”
B “Freelove (Deep Dish Freedom Remix)”
B “Freelove (Powder Productions Remix)”

Good night lovers (12BONG 33)
A “good night lovers”
A “When the body speaks (acoustic version)”
B “The Dead of the Night (Remix from Electronicat)”
B “Goodnight Lovers (Isan Falling Leaf Mix)”


Comments are closed.