Caravan announces new studio album for October


Canterbury Caravan prog legends have announced the release of a brand new studio album, It’s not your business, via Madfish on October 8.

The new ten-track album is Caravan’s first album since 2013 Paradise filter and features nine new songs plus an instrumental track influenced, to some extent, by events and restrictions placed on society over the past 18 months.

ELO / ARW bassist Lee Pomeroy is a guest on the new album after Jim Leverton leaves, while Jimmy Hastings is also a guest on flute. The rest of the line-up is made up of Pye Hastings (guitar, vocals), Geoffrey Richardson (viola, mandolin, guitar), Jan Schelhaas (keyboards) and Mark Walker (drums).

The album was recorded, as restrictions permitted, “old-fashioned” between June 24 and July 4, 2021 at Rimshot Studio, Bredgar near Sittingbourne. “Sitting in a circle and in eye contact, a large sound room was needed,” says Pye Hastings. “I much prefer this method because you can exchange ideas with each other as they arise and express encouragement when it all starts to click.

“And it’s a lot more rewarding to be able to slam each other in person rather than over the phone or email. This is something we are all very experienced in, trust me!

This solidarity characterizes It’s not your business with the warmth and humor that characterize Caravan and, also, a sensitivity reflecting the times in which we live. Sitting among the typically whimsical tales of Caravan Down in London and If I had to fly sit the sincere and poignant spare a thought and Every precious little thing who impatiently awaits a return to normality.

You can see the new album art for It’s not your business, created by acclaimed illustrator Bob Venables, below.

Caravan released the luxury 37-disc set Who do we think we are? in August.

Pre-order It’s not your business.


(Image credit: Madfish)

Caravan: It’s not your business
01. Down in London
02. Wishing you were here
03. It’s none of your business
04. Ready or not
05. spare a thought
06. Every little precious thing
07. If I had to fly
08. I will reach out to you
09. There is you
10. Luna’s tuna


Comments are closed.