Bullet For My Valentine announces self-titled 7th studio album, shares brutally heavy debut single, Knives


Bullet For My Valentine has announced their eponymous seventh studio album, sharing their first – and decidedly heavy – single, Knives.

While the Bridgend quartet has explored a vast musical territory during its decades in office – starting with the debut album of the metal masterclass The poison to the most recent effort, tinged with pop Gravity – this new cut is aimed at purists.

Beginning with a monstrous open-string riff delivered by guitarists Matt Tuck and Michael “Padge” Paget, the track demonstrates a stylistic change of direction for BFMV, in which they seem to incorporate a more metalcore-focused approach.

And it seems there’s more where it came from, like bullet for My Valentine is described as “easily their heaviest and fiercest album to date”.

“This is the start of Bullet 2.0,” says Tuck. “It means where we are right now. The music is fresh, it’s aggressive, it’s more visceral and passionate than it’s ever been.

“I think that’s the fiercest side of Bullet For My Valentine I’ve ever known,” says guitarist Michael “Padge” Paget. “It’s time for us to release a really angry, heavy and aggressive record. I can’t wait to make a face on stage!

“I wanted to get out the guns, the fucking flying middle fingers, and just go to the throat,” agrees Tuck. “I think it’s a much more aggressive and intense part of Bullet For My Valentine. It’s always been there. I just never opened the floodgates on it. I want to behead people in a metaphorical way.

The new album arrives October 22 via Spinefarm / Search & Destroy, with pre-orders available now. In the meantime, the band are expected to headlining the historic Download Festival Pilot at Donington Park in the UK on June 20.

In other BFMV news, the group recently announced Army of Noise, a Patreon-based fanclub that offers access to perks and exclusive Bullet-related content.

Check out the full song list for bullet for My Valentine below:

  1. Parasite
  2. Knives
  3. my reverie
  4. No happiness forever
  5. Can’t escape the waves
  6. Bastards
  7. Rainbow veins
  8. To break
  9. Paralyzed
  10. Death by a thousand cuts

bullet for My Valentine

(Image credit: Bullet For My Valentine)


Comments are closed.