Arch Enemy Announce Eleventh Studio Album Deceivers


Arch Enemy will release their eleventh studio album, deceiverson July 29 via Century Media, and guitarist Michael Amott promises the 11-track album is “Arch Enemy at full speed and power!”

The Swedes have already released two singles from the sequel to 2017’s Will To Power, deceiver, deceiver and house of mirrorsand a third single, the album’s opening track, Handshake with hellwill be released on February 4.

Speaking about the upcoming album, Amott said, “Coming to celebrate our 25th anniversary as a band and now releasing our eleventh studio album, one could easily assume that we would be navigating and going with the flow at this point. In reality, nothing could be further from the truth.

“It’s definitely always a challenge to raise the bar every time on the writing and production side, and it can feel a little daunting before you get down to it. But once we started and fully immersed ourselves in the creative process, it really felt like there was nothing else in the world and we were very focused. And believe it or not, most of the time we have a lot of fun making this music! To create deceivers was no different, once again we closed ourselves off from the outside world and went deep into the artistic zone. I think we’ve released some really interesting musical and lyrical themes this time around, some things might even raise an eyebrow or two – while still retaining all of the band’s signature elements.

“When Arch Enemy get together, we really lean on each other and it’s incredibly inspiring,” adds singer Alissa White-Gluz. “Make deceivers it took a lot of travels, uncertainties and risks that were not a reality during the manufacturing will to power. In the end, I think that helped fuel the extreme dynamics of the album. We’ve all had three years of touring together under our belt since the last album, plus a year of pandemic isolation – it’s safe to say we still had a few things to release in our songwriting. I think it’s a very diverse album that will appeal to longtime Arch Enemy devotees and intrigue new listeners… I can’t wait for everyone to dive into this album.

AE Album

(Image credit: Century Media)

The album’s tracklist is as follows:

1. Handshake with Hell
2. Deceptive, deceitful
3. In the eye of the storm
4. The Observer
5. Poison Arrow
6. Empire Sunset
7. The House of Mirrors
8. Spreading the Black Wings
9. The Mourning Star
10. One Last Time
11. Exiled from Earth

The band will kick off a year-long tour in Tempe, Arizona on April 16 when they join Behemoth, Napalm Death and Unto Others on The North American Siege 2022 Tour.


Comments are closed.